Women’s Fours Championship

Seven teams entered the Women’s Fours Championship, giving us one Section of Four and one Section of Three.  Because of the small number of teams we decided to take a winner and runner up from each Section to give us four teams to go through to the semi-final.

The Winner of Section One was Robyn Van Mosseveld’s team and the Runner Up Jan Cook’s team. The winner of Section Two was Pauline Bourne’s team, and Runners Up Moira Dean’s team.

In the first semi-final Robyn Van Mosseveld took the lead in the first 3 ends of the game, then the next 3 ends were taken by Moira Dean’s team. The game remained close with Dean’s team winning by 2 shots. In the second semi-final Pauline Bourne’s team and Jan Cook’s team were close throughout, Bourne winning 19-13.

The final was a great start for Moira Dean, Kerry Hutchinson, Lesley Hughes and Carmel Hyde going into the lead 10-2 after 10 ends over Pauline Bourne, Lee Leach, Robyn Woodward and Coral Smith. A fightback saw scores level at 10-10 after 16 ends. The extra end to determine the winner saw Dean’s team pick up one shot to win the final.