Men’s Fours Championship

Thirteen teams entered the Men’s Fours Championship, divided into four sections. The winning skippers of the four sections were Brian Collins, Peter Flack, Bruce Eagles and Mal Burton.

In the first semi-final Peter Flack’s team defeated the team of Brian Collins 13-11 in a closely fought contest with the lead changing a number of times. In the second  semi-final Bruce Eagles’ team lead the whole match against the team led by Mal Burton (despite some anxious moments) to win 17-11.

In the final the Eagles team consisting of rookie Matt Sharrett leading, veteran Russ Lockwood playing second and Ian Linford playing third, were  too strong and won comfortably 19-6 against the Flack team of Bob Jeffs, Spider Webb and Stan Van Mosseveld.