Women’s Fours Championship

The Women’s Fours Championship began on Wednesday 1st February. The morning started in true summer conditions with a strong easterly wind blowing which thankfully kept the temperature lower than the predicted mid 30s. With eight teams entered, the format of the event was two sections of four teams, playing three rounds of 15 ends with the two section winners to play off in the final. Day one saw the first two rounds played.

In Round 1, the game between Team Everest and Team Van Mosseveld came down to a nail biter. With the score equal on the 14th end Robyn’s team came up with the winning shots with the final score 15-13. Other winning teams in Round 1 were Teams Bourne, Carter and Marsden. All other teams in both sections played well and enjoyed the competition.

Round 2 commenced after the lunch break with playing conditions slightly warmer. Teams Everest, Van Mosseveld, Hyde and Marsden all had a win which leaves the third and final round to decide section winners. That third round will be played on Wednesday 8th February followed by the final over 18 ends.

Wednesday 8th February saw the third and final round of sectional play for the Women’s Fours Championship, followed by the final between the winners of each section. All teams completed the round in close to perfect weather conditions on a beautifully running C green.

Section 1
Demi Konig, Carole Ford, Kaye Martin, Sandy Everest v Anne Sauerwein, Wendy Flack, Shirley Palmer, Charmain Harris. A great game with Team Harris holding the lead until the 7th end when Team Everest went ahead. When Team Harris regained the mat they controlled the rest of the game and won comfortably in the end.

Shelley Jeffs, Kerry Hutchinson, Tracey Newman, Robyn Van Mosseveld v Wendy Saul, Coral Smith, Lee Leach, Pauline Bourne. An interesting game with Team Bourne getting off to a good start, holding a four shot lead on the 5th end. Team Van Mosseveld fought back scoring on the next seven ends. Despite Team Bourne scoring on the final three ends, the gap was too big to bridge, resulting in a win to Team Van Mosseveld 16-12 and a place in the final.

Section 2 
Kath Harris, Jennifer Page, Lesley Hughes, Shona Carter v Liz McTaggart, Larraine Brickell, Moira Dean, Glen Larcombe. A great competitive game between these two teams with Team Larcombe leading up to the 8th end until Team Carter’s determination and concentration saw them win five of the next seven ends and take the win.

Liz Marshall, Jan Power-Tuke, Jan Cook, Lorraine Hyde v Robyn Woodward, Jan Paniperis, Cheryl Greig, Pauline Marsden.  Another great game between these two teams with Team Marsden only dropping four ends and winning the round which gained them a place in the final.

Team Marsden v Team Van Mosseveld
Oh what a final!! Team Marsden started well winning 7 of the first 9 ends when the score was 14-4. Team Van Mosseveld came back scoring six shots in the next two ends bringing the score to 14-10. By the 16th end they had taken the lead by two shots. On the 17th end  Team Marsden picked up a five, giving them a 20-17 lead going into the 18th and final end. With great draw bowls being played by the Van Mosseveld team, they picked up a four to win the championship by just one shot, 20-21 with both teams having won 9 ends.

An exciting final to watch and congratulations to all.
Winners: Robyn Van Mosseveld, Tracey Newman, Kerry Hutchinson, Shelley Jeffs
Runners Up: Pauline Marsden, Cheryl Greig, Jan Paniperis, Robyn Woodward