Opening Day 2022

On Sunday 18th September, the club’s Opening Day was held, and around 80 members attended for the customary welcome, lunch and bowls.

Before Opening Day proceedings got under way, a presentation was made to Dan Nicholls, the 2021-22 Men’s Bowler-of-the Year, as he had not been presented previously.
Short welcome words were delivered by our President, Barry Bradshaw and by Deputy Mayor, Councillor Christine Hamilton-Prime (deputising for our patron, the Mayor Albert Jacob who was unable to attend)
The weather was fine and sunny and the Deputy Mayor, the President and Councillor Russell Fishwick delivered the ceremonial “first bowl” of the season and struck the first croquet ball, witnessed by the members assembled.
Lunch was then served, and was much appreciated. Thanks to W.A SPITROAST for their food and staff.

Sixty-four bowlers then took to the greens in the annual Des Bennett Memorial Trophy, contested by mixed teams skippered by women and by men. The men emerged victorious by 147 (5½ Wins) shots to 133 (2½ Wins). The best-performed men’s team was the team of Di Cox, Larry Perry, Kerry Hutchinson and Peter Flack and the best-performed women’s team was Ron Taylor, Tracey Newman, Ron Hutchinson and Lee Leach.
The raffle was drawn with the major prize of a set of bowls won by Warren Smith, a social member of our club. The Aero Bowls Bag was won by D. Cox. K. Coffey and G. Sarich both won a new pair of bowls shoes. The final prize which was a hamper was won by J. Power-Tuke.

Thanks to Charmain Harris, Shona Carter and Peter Flack for their assistance in putting the day together, and to the small army of assistants from both croquet and bowls that helped on the day.