Opening Day 2021

The Opening Day for the 2021-2022 season was held on Sunday 19th September, with over 90 members in attendance. Guests included our patron, City of Joondalup Mayor, Albert Jacob as well as COJ Councillors Russell Fishwick, Christine Hamilton-Prime and John Raftis. Our President, John Abercrombie, welcomed all and Mayor Jacob briefly addressed the attendees, congratulating the Club on once again being awarded the Medium Club Of The Year by Clubs WA, and reassuring us that work of the much-anticipated synthetic green was still on track. Fourteen Life Members of the Club and their partners were also in attendance.

Announcements and presentations to last season’s Championship winners then took place. Congratulations to the winner of the Men’s Bowler of the Year, Kyle McIlroy, and Women’s Bowler of the Year, Pauline Bourne.

Those assembled then took to the green for the traditional club photo. The ceremonial rolling of the first bowl for the season followed, with Russell Fishwick showing the benefit of being a regular club bowler and drawing closest to the jack. Next, the striking of the first croquet ball demonstrated John Raftis’ hidden talent.

The group then returned to the clubhouse for lunch, before proceeding back onto the greens under cool and cloudy skies to do battle in the annual Des Bennett Trophy match between mixed teams of “men” and “women”. The men emerged triumphant by 178 shots to 164, and now lead 5 wins to 4 since the trophy was inaugurated.

Thanks to the Croquet ladies who provided the morning tea, the women bowlers who helped, and to Cheryl Greig, Shelley Jeffs, Anne Orton, Pauline Marsden and Trevor Orton for their help in organising the day.

Championship results 2020/21:

Mixed Fours

Winners: Phil Webb, Matt Sharrett, Kaye Martin, Carole Ford

Runners Up: Stan Van Mosseveld, Robyn Van Mosseveld, Shelley Jeffs, Bob Jeffs

Mixed Pairs

Winners: Barbara Lorencs, Colin Jasper

Runners Up: Lee Leach, Ron Rogers

Women’s Novice Singles

Winner: Jennifer Page

Runner Up: Debbie Cranswick

Men’s Novice Singles

Winner: Barney Fleiser

Runner Up: Gary Bayne

Women’s Veteran Singles

Winner: Lorraine Hyde

Runner Up: Jan Paniperis

Men’s Veteran Singles

Winner: Bruce Eagles

Runner Up: Alan Davis

Women’s 100 Up Singles

Winner: Pauline Bourne

Runner Up: Liz Marshall

Men’s 100 Up Singles

Winner: Murray Hulbert

Runner Up: Peter Flack

Men’s Second Division and Under Singles

Winner: Neville Odell

Runner Up: Wayne Gray

Women’s Fours

Winners: Moira Dean, Kerry Hutchinson, Lesley Hughes, Carmel Hyde

Runners Up: Pauline Bourne, Lee Leach, Robyn Woodward, Coral Smith

Men’s Fours

Winners: Bruce Eagles, Russell Lockwood, Ian Linford, Matt Sharrett

Runners Up: Peter Flack, Stan Van Mosseveld, Phil Webb, Bob Jeffs

Women’s Triples

Winners: Jackie Maxwell, Cheryl Greig, Kath Harris

Runners Up: Jan Power-Tuke, Kerry Hutchinson, Wendy Flack

Men’s Triples

Winners: Alan Barron, Mal Burton, Leith Oldham

Runners Up: Bruce Eagles, Ian Linford, Matt Sharrett

Women’s Pairs

Winners: Barbara Lorencs, Pauline Marsden

Runners Up: Coral Smith, Wendy Flack

Men’s Pairs

Winners: Kyle McIlroy, Shane Loftus

Runners Up: Mick Martin, Mal Burton

Women’s Singles

Winner: Pauline Bourne

Runner Up: Barbara Lorencs

Men’s Singles

Winner: Kyle McIlroy

Runner Up: Dan Greig

Women’s Bowler of the Year

Pauline Bourne

Men’s Bowler of the Year

Kyle McIlroy