Men’s State Fours Champions

The 2022-2023 Dyenamic WA Men’s State Fours had a field of 96 teams take part this season with the final taking part at the Manning Bowling Club on the afternoon of Sunday October 30th.

In the Semi-Finals, the Sorrento team of Bruce Eagles, Murray Hulbert, Peter Flack, and Peter Morgan had a strong win over the Composite team skipped by Segan Pasalich (Osborne Park), Shane Loftus (Osborne Park), Andrew Pasalich (Osborne Park), and Sean Niven (Joondalup) 20-10.

The other Semi-Final saw a solid win for South Perth’s Justin Opie, Glenn Pauling, Troy Kinane and Scott Walker over Doubleview’s Kyle Mcilroy, Stewart Gosstray, Steve Cerff and Gavin Faulkner 18-11.

The Final was played under a series of different weather conditions with both wind and no wind at different times and sunshine and light rain also alternating through the game. The Bruce Eagles team started well by winning the first two ends to go up 3-0 with Justin Opie drawing level on the third end with a three.

Again, Eagles won two ends in a row and surged to a good-sized lead 11-3 by getting fours on both occasions. Opie again answered by grabbing a four of their own followed by a three to close the gap to a single shot of 10-11 after seven ends of the eighteen-end game.

At the halfway mark of the match, the Eagles team was leading 14-10 and were starting to gain the ascendence with more consistent bowls in the head. A two to Opie on the tenth end saw him close within two shots of Eagles at 12-14 but it was the start of the end for the South Perth team.

Three singles in a row followed by two, one, one and two saw Eagles win seven ends in a row and take a 23-12 win with an end to spare. Bruce Eagles, Murray Hulbert, Peter Flack, and Peter Morgan led from start to finish only being level on the third end to earn the 2022-23 Dyenamic WA State Fours Championship.

A huge congratulation to Bruce Eagles, Murray Hulbert, Peter Flack and Peter Morgan – the club is extremely proud of your very fine achievement.