Men’s Pairs Championship

The Men’s Pairs Championship was completed on the afternoon of Friday 18th February, before an appreciative audience, whose numbers were swollen for much of the time by the presence of the MegaBowl competitors.

The semi-finals had been played on Friday 11th and Sunday 13th February. In the first semi-final, Greg Taylor and Bruce Eagles were successful over Peter Crow and Ian Linford, while Dan Nichols (replacing Frank Tyson) and Matt Sharrett overcame Peter Snow and Trevor Orton in the other semi-final.

In both games there were a number of competitive ends, but final scores were very lop-sided and the games called early.

The final was a high quality, closely fought, intense affair in which scores were tied at 9-9 after completion of 12 of the scheduled 18 ends.  However, Matt Sharrett and Dan Nicholls (substituting for Frank Tyson) adapted a little better to the slowing conditions and eventually pulled away winning the last 6 ends for a 17-9 victory over Bruce Eagles and Greg Taylor.  Congratulations to Matt and Dan/Frank on their first victory in this prestigious event.