Life Membership


Congratulations to our newest Life Member, Trevor Orton. Trevor was presented with his Life Membership by Cr Russ Fishwick at today’s AGM.

Trevor joined the Sorrento Bowling Club on the 19 December 1998. As Chair of Match, Trevor was highly effective in organising, promoting and running a plethora of different events to meet the varying needs of participants. The types of events that Trevor has championed include mixed social bowls, weekly twilight bowls, nominated and drawn pairs, triples and fours, parent and child competitions, Sorrento Vs the Police, RSL and Master Builders competitions, evening community bowls, 100 up competitions, sponsored events, club championships, State and National Tournaments and many more. Trevor has demonstrated exemplary skills in running smooth and well organised events, representing the Club well, working constructively with volunteers and management, and maintaining enthusiasm and harmony.

Trevor has been diligent in training other volunteers in various aspects of his role, and this enables him to delegate and reduce his heavy workload. His planning and organisation skills, knowledge of the game and rules surrounding the running of events, computer and technology skills, interpersonal, presentation and finance skills are of the highest quality.

Trevor possesses a sense of humour, patience, tolerance and innovation – something required to get over members’ objections. The impact that Trevor has had on maintaining harmony and encouraging participation over the past twenty years has been enormous. Running over 100 events per year while maintaining a professional reputation for the standard and conduct of events, including State and National tournaments and championships, speaks highly of Trevor’s dedication, skill and knowledge. He has been able to harmonise a team of volunteers and work constructively with a broad spectrum of Club members.

Trevor is very well regarded by Bowls WA and sits on their Fixtures and Events Committee. Trevor was elected to the position of Vice President Sports and Participation in 2020/2021 and was re-elected unopposed 2021/2022.